Iain Bates, 34, his fiancee Zoe Griffin, 31, and their three-year old toddler, Evan, were due to spend a long weekend down at the Brean Sands resort, but their break was cut short when they were horrified by the "horrendous" state of their guesthouse.

 Iain Bates, 34, his fiancee Zoe Griffin, 31, and their three-year old toddler, Evan were due to spend a long weekend at a Pontins but were left horrified by the 'horrendous' state of their guesthouse

BPM Media

7

Iain Bates, 34, his fiancee Zoe Griffin, 31, and their three-year old toddler, Evan were due to spend a long weekend at a Pontins but were left horrified by the 'horrendous' state of their guesthouse
 When the family arrived at the Brean Sands resort in August they were greeted by dead flies stuck to the walls

BPM Media

7

When the family arrived at the Brean Sands resort in August they were greeted by dead flies stuck to the walls
 They also discovered a ball of hair blocking the bath plughole

BPM Media

7

They also discovered a ball of hair blocking the bath plughole

The family - who had purchased the break for £149 on Groupon - travelled down to the park on August 11 but were greeted by the grim conditions.

An oven thick with food and grease both inside and out, chewing-gum stuck to the windowsill, a ball of hair blocking the bath plughole, a broken smoke alarm, cabinets and drawers hanging off the walls and dead bugs dried into the wall above the shower head - these were just a few of the problems the family encountered.

There was also a dirty toilet brush, mouldy tiles and flooring, rust on the bathroom window, a bloody plaster left in the sink, dirt all over the floors and an overgrown garden.

Communications executive, Iain said: "We couldn't believe the state in general of the holiday park. Before we were able to check in we spent a few hours there and it was really dated and grubby.

"We hoped that our accommodation would be of a higher standard after seeing the pictures of the accommodation online.

"The apartment was so filthy we didn't even let our three-year-old take his shoes off indoors. It really was the holiday from hell."

 The family were also shocked to discover the fire alarm inside the guesthouse was broken

BPM Media

7

The family were also shocked to discover the fire alarm inside the guesthouse was broken
 Damp was also found underneath the vinyl flooring

BPM Media

7

Damp was also found underneath the vinyl flooring

Iain went to complain on behalf of him and his fiancee - who works as a retail assistant - as soon as the reception opened on Saturday morning and requested a deep clean for the grimy guesthouse.

The family requested an upgrade on their accommodation but Iain was told they had already been upgraded.

ONE-STAR FAILS The top 10 most bizarre TripAdvisor reviews… from sex-crazed zoo animals to restaurants that smell of fart

Iain added: "The queue for customer services was really long and lots of people were complaining about the standard of the accommodation."

The family left the apartment less than 24 hours after arriving and requested a full refund from Pontins in their complaint after having to fork out £140 for another accommodation in Weston.

 The bathroom did not fare any better with the family finding mould on the bath

BPM Media

7

The bathroom did not fare any better with the family finding mould on the bath
 Also in the bathroom, Iain and his family found rust all along the window

BPM Media

7

Also in the bathroom, Iain and his family found rust all along the window

Iain added: "We were really looking forward to going away as a family and our holiday was ruined by the state of the park and accommodation.

"The whole place needs to be knocked down and fully refurbished. I just hope other people realise what they are letting themselves in for before they decide to go to the Brean site."

In a letter responding to the family's complaint, Pontins apologised and on investigating the claims, admitted the guesthouse did not meet Pontins' standards.

A ‘complaints handler’ wrote: "We were very sorry to learn of the problems you encountered with the accommodation you were allocated and we have noted all the points you have raised.

"It is our intention that all accommodation is fully prepared for incoming guests and that no problems will be encountered. In the circumstances we can now only offer our sincere apologies that this was not the case.

"Pontins continues to invest heavily in the refurbishment of our accommodation and facilities in order to bring them up to the expected standards, and resources are also invested in the staff training programme in order to enhance guest care."

The letter continues to state that in response to feedback from its guests, Pontins has invested in new mattresses, cookers and electrical equipment that are being rolled out across the parks.

"I have investigated your complaint and can see your stay did not meet our expectations," Stephen wrote.

The family were then offered £99 as a goodwill gesture for the nights they didn't stay at the apartment - which they accepted.

Pontins were contacted for a comment.

MOST READ IN NEWS

lockdown

Man tasered inside Parliament gates screaming 'we're coming for you politicians'

MUM'S AGONY

Mum comes face to face with boy, 16, charged with rape & murder of daughter, 6

TRAIN TRAGEDY

First pic of woman killed leaning out of train window after Xmas market trip

Exclusive

PORK SCRATCHINGS

Gross moment PUS oozes from Aldi pork shoulder mum bought for dinner

Latest

monster dad

Poppi's dad LOSES attempt to overturn ruling he 'sexually abused' her

BIG FREEZE

Temperatures to plunge to -7C with five-day Icelandic blast bringing snow to UK

We pay for your stories! Do you have a story for The Sun Online news team? Email us at  or call 0207 782 4368 . We pay for videos too. Click here to upload yours.

 



Related news

Grandir ensemble education civique
Irvinebank queensland map with amusement
Firefly audioquest king
Jacques chirac agadir meteo
Que significa vivir responsablemente
Oziriz vazquez covington
Art of living bangalore ashram accommodation in pune
Omoda zwarte enkellaarsjes
Que son las directivas de la ueva
Palissade bambou plastique noir